The YMCA offers a plethora of education courses such as American Red Cross training, CPR & AED, and First Aid.
 


Types of classes we offer

American Red Cross Lifeguard Training

Learn the skills needed to become a certified lifeguard. First-Aid, CPR for the Professional Rescuer, and AED, and Oxygen Administration certifications are also included. Attendance is mandatory at all sessions in order to be certified.
 

American Red Cross CPR & AED

This American Red Cross CPR class includes adult, child & infant CPR as well as AED.
 

American Red Cross Re-Certification

Re-Certification provides an opportunity for those with current certifications to re-certify or to extend the length of their certifications. Passing participants can receive a Lifeguard, First Aid, CPR for Professional Rescuer, Oxygen, and AED certification.

 

Lifeguard Course Requirements

  • Must be at least 15 years old by the last day of the course attended
  • Attend ALL training sessions in their entirety
  • Demonstrate competency in all required skills, activities and scenarios
  • Pass a written test with a score of at least 80%
  • Successfully complete the following prerequisites:
    • Swim 300 yards continuously
    • Tread water for 2 minutes using legs only
    • Swim 20 yards, surface dive in 7-10 feet of water, retrieve a 10 lb. object and swim 20 yards on theback to return to the starting point (this is a timedevent)
    • Perform all required skills with accuracy

PARTICIPANTS MUST PASS THE ENTIRE PRE-SKILLS TEST AND COMPLETE THE ONLINE PORTION (IF BLENDED) IN ORDER TO CONTINUE WITH THE IN-PERSON PORTION OF THE COURSE.

 

Locations

Check with your local Y for specific times.
 

Delaware Community Center YMCA

Phone: (614) 389-4648

Contact: Kellie Demmler kellie.demmler@ymcacolumbus.org

Dates:

  • February: 17-18, 24-25
  • September:  14-15, 21-22
  • November: 2-3, 9-10

 

Don M. And Margaret Hilliker YMCA

Phone: (614) 389-4364

Contact: Kyle Wyant kyle.wyant@ymcacolumbus.org

Dates:

  • April: 20-21, 27-28
  • July: 27, 28
  • August: 3, 4

 

Eldon & Elsie Ward Family YMCA

Phone: (614) 389-4643

Dates:

  • January: 25-28
  • August: 16-18, 24-25

 

Gahanna/John E. Bickley YMCA

Phone: (614) 416-9622

Contact: Ellie Pastor ellie.pastor@ymcacolumbus.org

Dates:

  • TBD

 

Grove City YMCA

Phone: (614) 389-4567

Contact: Stephanie Rolfe stephanie.rolfe@ymcacolumbus.org

Dates:

  • March: 25-28
  • April: 20-21, 27-28
  • September: 28-29
  • October: 5-6

 

Hilliard/Ray Patch Family YMCA

Phone: (614)-389-4557

Contact: Emerson Alspaugh emerson.alspaugh@ymcacolumbus.org

Dates:

  • February: 16-18, 24
  • April: 12-14, 20
  • June: 13-16
  • July: 18-21

 

Hilltop YMCA

Phone: (614) 389-4565

Contact: Gabriele Hover gabriele.hover@ymcacolumbus.org

Dates:

  • March: 15-17, 23-24
  • June: 24-28
  • September: 20-22, 28-29

 

Jerry L. Garver YMCA

Phone: (614) 389-4556

Contact: Skylar Fox skylar.fox@ymcacolumbus.org

Dates:

  • April: 10-13
  • July: 24-27
  • December: 18-21

 

Liberty Township/ Powell YMCA

Phone: (614) 389-4566

Contact: Clark Coulter clark.coulter@ymcacolumbus.org 

Dates:

  • March: 23-26
  • June: 10-14
  • July: 30-31 
  • Aug 1-2
  • October: 12-13, 19-20

 

Pickaway County Family YMCA

Phone: (740) 477-1661

Contact: Austin Brooks austin.brooks@ymcacolumbus.org

Dates:

  • TBA

 

Reynoldsburg Community Center YMCA

Phone: (614) 689-2040

Contact: Brittany Kaiser brittany.kaiser@ymcacolumbus.org

Dates:

  • TBA